Connect iHost devices to Alexa/GA via Node-Red

Hi guys. I am very new to Node-Red. Since iHost does not have native support for Alexa or Google Assistant, I am looking at options which connect iHost devices to Alexa/GA via Node-Red. I found one such service known as Sinric Pro.

Below is a link to how to use Sinric virtual devices in Node-Red.
https://help.sinric.pro/pages/node-red

This is what I want to do:

1. Use voice command to turn on/off Sinric virtual device
  2. Connect this Sinric virtual device via node red to a zigbee switch in iHost
  3. This would enable voice control of Zigbee devices in iHost.

Can anyone who is an experienced Node-Red user help create this flow?

Thank You,
Sri

I am an experienced Node-RED user and would be happy to offer advice if you run into difficulties. Unfortunately, I do not use Alexa or Google Assistant, so I would not be able to do any of the actual development.

Thanks for offering your help.

I have since abandoned Sinric and currently planning to use Node-RED Google Assistant Bridge.

Below is my sequence

My switch in iHost is turning on. But not turning off.

Below is the documentation from Node-RED Google Assistant Bridge.

https://googlehome.hardill.me.uk/docs#configNodes

Can you tell me why I unable to turn off my switch?

Thanks
Sri

That was quick progress. The first thing I would check is the message sent to turn off the switch. I would expect it to contain payload.params.on:false, but that’s just a guess.

I appreciate your prompt reply. Tried the following but it did not work. Did I follow your suggestion correctly?

OK. Since I can’t see inside your nodes or run them myself, I would suggest two things. First add debug nodes to the outputs of the switch node so that you can see exactly what the GA Bridge is sending. Then attach inject nodes to the inputs of the control-device nodes and try to construct messages that turn the switches on and off. Then, of course, get everything to match up.