Noob Node-RED question: how to access a value in JSON tree?

Hi all.

I’m completely new to Node RED and although it seems to be a nice system I’m struggling to use a specific variable/value in the JSON tree.

I have a flow that fetches the changed device status of a Sonoff S26R2 and this is the output:

"{"endpoint":{"serial_number":"****************","third_serial_number":"*************"},"payload":{"power":{"powerState":"off"}}}"

How can I get that powerState value to use in a mssage for e.g. debug, PushBullet message, etc.?

I tried to write these at such nodes:

msg.payload.power.powerState
msg.payload.power[].powerState
msg.payload["power"].powerState
msg.payload["power"]["powerState"]

But all leads to the output value undefined.

Can anyone explain me what I did wrong and how to get the powerState value?

1 Like

If you use node
the syntax is
in the next node, succes. I am new in node-red also!

I don’t have the time to check directly, but I believe I use a noce called like “Control device” or so. But your answer gives me a new clue to try out! payload[0] could be the solution. :slightly_smiling_face:

I saw a remark that the output of the eWeLink CUBE add-on in Node-RED doesn’t output a Javascript object. It does output a string. See Not getting any events in Node-Red - #7 by csongor.varga And that appearantly is the culprit.

It turns out easy to solve: just use the node that converts a JSON string to Javascript objects and then use the rest of the code.

Below is a visual representation of how I solved it. Maybe this explanation can help others to get started. I hope eWeLink will improve the output of their nodes to get objects instead of strings. In that way the JSON conversion won’t be necessary anymore.

1. The flow

• At the left you see the “event - state” node. The device involved here is called “Maanlampjes” (litterally translated too “Little moon lights”, as they look like the half of a moon).
  • Then you see the JSON converter.